Eurozone or Euro Zone (Definition)

Currency Map of the EU

The Eurozone is comprised of the countries that use the euro in place of their former national currencies. The founding members of the Eurozone are Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Greece, Cyprus, Slovenia, Malta, Slovakia and Estonia joined later on in that order.

Denmark and the United Kingdom received opt-outs and are never required to join the Eurozone. Sweden, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria are required to join in the future, though there is no deadline for their adoption of the euro.


3 thoughts on “Eurozone or Euro Zone (Definition)

  1. I know its off topic… but the map there kind of reminds me of when I used to play Risk-online. 🙂

    But on-topic, why has the UK always been against taking on the Euro?

      • Well maybe you could do a post explaining why it’s good for them to stay off the Euro. If you’ve already done a post like that, I’ll find it eventually as I continue reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s